Nothing is forever. Nothing.

by shalinijena

 Let me start from the beginning. And that is, nearly two years back, when we first came to Hyderabad. I was the sulky, bored and living, what you can call, perhaps the most non-happening part of my life. My mother on the other hand was the jolly, happy and excited one, who was glad to have some change after a decade of small town. Here, she had a beautiful house with a lawn, a backyard to dry her clothes (she hates to display them in the balcony), people to help in her household and of course, she had her husband. Finally, after so many years, they were together again. Now, they could go to the club together. They could play tambola (and never win) together. They could watch soap operas together, argue for the remote and end up listening to me instead and yes, ‘together’. They could fight over who is more stubborn. They could have holidays together. They could live a normal life, together…

A few months later, I made new friends and trust me, I became alive from those days and till date… But something else was changing around me. Me? Totally! Not Dad. He was always the over protective type. The difference is, I used to listen before. Today, I am a rebel. It was Mom… She did not seem happy. Everything was at the right place. She was busy as ever, no time to get bored. She was learning new stuff, with the new microwave and you must trust me, she is good! She went out for strolls every evening. She came back, stitched clothes for me and herself and visited the club, three times a week. There had just one imperfect pixel in the perfect picture, which made the picture look dull and ugly. She had no friends.

My dad pretends to be a sociable person, but you have to meet my army man to believe me. He is far worse than I am. But at least he tries, so that makes him a better person. We had parties at our place (I will not talk more about that or else the post will end up being about parties and how pathetic they are). People came and went. They loved my mom. But, my dad is not a great company you see. So, eventually, my mom was the perfect, lonely wife. I would love to paint on that subject, someday…

But nothing is forever. Nothing.

Last year, in the month of October, Dad and all his colleagues left for Rajasthan on an excise for three months. Mom was not happy about it, neither was I. But then, nothing is for the worse. Nothing. After he left, she was sad for sometime and then the club day arrived. This time, she was not worried about what to wear; she was concerned that she would be alone. And she hates to be alone and so, called up few other aunties who were worried about the same thing. She met with them. They shared many stories. They started to relate. And they became friends…

Those three months were the best days of my mom’s stay in Hyderabad. She was happier, full of life, nothing was monotonous about every day. She was active in the ladies club, she was doing something different and no matter, how much she might hate to admit, she loved the club, which actually is the sophisticated alias for kitty parties. I was happy for her. But three months fly before you know…

Dad was back. But, he knew that things had changed. I felt sad for him… When we are bored, we get irritated, we do different stuff. But you can’t bore my dad if he has his family with him. Can’t blame him for being a boring guy, he has lived away from his family for almost an entire life… He wouldn’t stop my mom, but he was unable to encourage either. But hey, what am I talking about? No one stops my mom!

She continued meeting her friends, she missed them on the club days, but then when you are married, you compromise and if you are as sharp as my mom, you could find happiness anywhere.

This post should actually end here, like a short film- one plot and that’s it. But there is a little more to it. My mom is someone I look up to, she is one of those people in my lives who I would love to make proud someday. And what I am going to say might make me a really sad person, but I was not very happy about her whole friend circle and all the giggling away like old college days. I tried not to have an issue with it, but I couldn’t help. She would talk like teenagers when she is with them, she was no more my different mommy, she was one of the kitty party ladies, who liked to brag about their children, let other people know how sweet their husbands are, who liked to talk endlessly and compare their kids with others. The last point would exclusively be applicable to me, because I am supposed to be the anti-social of all. More talk on that later. So, you see the situation, don’t you?

I was not ok with it. But then, what did I tell you before? Nothing is forever. Nothing. With time, I noticed the change in her. She still had a fixed schedule, but the pixelated part was undone. She has friends. She has family. She is a great mom, wife and woman. She is perfect. And I got used to that. I actually started liking her friends, could not relate, but thanks to her and all the movie I have watched in these two weeks, I have learnt more about a woman’s life, her every day struggle, her pain and her love…

