The Bollywood Comedy

by shalinijena

We should rename today’s Bollywood comedy to “Lame Droll” ! What has happened to our cinema! I try so hard to understand but I just don’t know what is wrong with David Dhawan. I can’t think there are audiences who love his latest work Rascals because I could not stand it for a minute more than the ridiculous half an hour I spent only for the sake of my Mom.

In movies like Do aur do Paanch and Chupke Chupke there were was something called comedy. There were great dialogues, funny expressions that made sense in real life and bless me, less dance numbers! In the year 2000 released Hera Pheri. There was undoubtedly a lot of over acting, but instead of being the usual skeptic self, I would say that movie was great and so were the dialogues. After the first Golmal in 1979, Rohit Shetty’s Golmal in 2006 wasn’t bad either… I remember how less expectations I had of the movie but had staggeringly enjoyed it! And then came the sequences (Return.. and 3 – check the imdb ratings)… Disappointment! The last time I was ‘laughing in a comedy (bollywood)’ was the movie of the year, Delhi Belly. I was yelling at the top of my voice, ‘My belly aches!’. Some of my facebook friends did not find the movie so funny and that was because they could relate it with their daily life. In my case, I say that out of self contempt for being such a stereotype – but I would have expected such comedy, only from a Hollywood comedy. I don’t mind drama, in fact I think that is the specialty of Bollywood Cinema, but who can stand lameness! Film is supposed to make sense with our daily lives and even if not, somehow in our imaginary world, and the real meaning of comedy has surpassed Shakespearean opposite of tragedy with a happy ending. Today, comedy is much more than that and it is supposed to relate the lighter side of our life. They are not supposed to make us think that we are not only wasting our time, but ruining it!

Why do I bother? Because I am so pissed off with David Dhawan. I first thought, what makes him think he can sell a comedy like that. But I don’t want to judge, there are a lot of things I don’t understand, so I will spare you guys with my expert comments. I know what it takes to make a film, and may be I have no right to condemn anyone’s hard-work. But is it just me? I might not stand the ‘nuisance’ because I haven’t watched bollywood chick flicks for a long time. Also it might be a light comedy for many people, I remember enjoying Munnabhai and Mujhse Shaadi karogi even a few years back. I am not convinced by critical views also… But hey, why do I always justify myself?

Anyways!

These days they make movies with unnecessary expressions, unnatural happenings, illogical sense and lame dialogues and call that a comedy! Seriously? And that’s it!

