Harry Potter – An odyssey

by shalinijena

In the summer of 2003 I was promoted to my sixth grade and had made some really awesome friends in my new school, D.A.V. We were a group of five – a pretty impressive number, isn’t it? Anyways so out of five, two of them were crazy Harry Potter ACs! (In lieu of ‘fans’. A shop soiled, obsolete P.J which we used to express emoSons!) I was the third one to join the group and soon one of the HP quizzer of the class (we had six sections and don’t ask me how many HP maniacs!). There are criticisers too and with due respect to them, I ask them to not give their expert comments.

We amassed pictures, articles, quiz sections and stickers of HP and pasted them on our respective diaries and graced it with more accessories like (in my case) plastic flower from a pretty clip or colour papers or  cut out outlines from marriage cards with my deft fingers(!). We asked each other questions- which is the strongest potion in the world – what is the only defence against the Imperius curse or what is the counter-curse for the levicorpus curse?

We were so much into it that we probably considered it to be one of our most important subjects which we needed to prepare every morning before school and the more you know, the more clued up you are. Who said it was a book? It was a life, for us- The boy who lived…

When the sorting hat talked to Harry, confused and in an awkward quandary that which house would be the best for him… When Harry kept on supposing if all of a sudden they say that it was all a mistake and he was not the wizard they were looking for… When he meets Tom Riddle for the first time and figures out what Hermione wanted to tell him before being petrified… When the phoenix surprises Harry with the sorting hat and later as he pulls the Gryffindor sword out of it… When he talks about his first (wet) kiss with Cho infronta Ron and Hermione wondering what made her cry, Hermione gives a long-drawn-out list of emotions to which Ron said :

Harry kissing Cho under mistletoe. Talking to Ron & Hermione in Common Room

A slightly stunned silence greeted the end of this speech, then Ron said, “One person can’t feel all that at once, they’d explode.”
“Just because you’ve got the emotional range of a teaspoon doesn’t mean we all have,” said Hermione nastily, picking up her quill again.

Ah! How can I forget Gilderoy Lockhart! There is one particular piece of rib tickling scene when Harry falls off his broom and this braggart comes down to heal him ‘immediately’:

Gilderoy Lockhart: Ah… yes, well, that can sometimes happen. Um, but, uh, the point is, uh, you can no longer feel any pain. And, very clearly, the bones are not broken.
Hagrid: Broken? There’s no bones left!
Gilderoy Lockhart: Much more flexible, though

Yea and another one from the same chamber of secrets (second part) when Harry who is disguised as Goyle meets Malfoy after drinking the polyjuice potion:

Harry transforming to Goyle

Draco Malfoy: [to Harry, disguised as Goyle] Why are you wearing glasses?
Goyle: Oh, uh… reading.
Draco Malfoy: Reading? I didn’t know you could read.

The third part would always be one of my favourites. 1. Because no one died. 2. The murderer we thought actually was the Godfather.  Seriously this was one twist I never expected!

In the same part J.K. Rowling did show the hilarious part of Fred and George even better. They were adorable right?! Reminds me of how they used to make a sport out of Percy :

Fred and George in the Goblet of Fire

Fred Weasley: How’re we getting to King’s Cross tomorrow, Dad?
Arthur Weasley: The Ministry’s providing a couple cars.
Percy Weasley: Why?
George Weasley: It’s because of you, Percy, and there’ll be little flags on the hoods, with HB on them…
Fred Weasley: …for Humongous Bighead.

Humongous means Big anyways.

Parvati Patil and the 'dress'

If you ask me which book was my favorite, my answer would be the first one and if you ask which movie grabbed my senses the most – then here you are – The Goblet Of Fire. Oh I loved the movie! The expression on Ron’s face when he saw his handed down robe, Harry’s crush on Cho, Parvati’s horrible dress (I mean come on. These Hollywood people stereotype the east so much that they would actually think that we would wear ‘those’ for a Yule Ball :|). The entire book was happening and as I talk about it I wish to read it all over again :o.

We all were little upset when Harry became so aggressive in the fifth part. Ofcourse, we sympathized him and his plight. Does it sound weird? Didn’t I tell you? We never looked at HP as  a lifeless book… I would not say that I ‘loved’ the movie, but it did look a little gloomy. I mean, come on. You don’t really think Order of Phoenix should be less than two parts for a movie.

Dumbledore falling from the Astronomy Tower

I did not cry when my handsome sweetie Cedric died, not even when Sirius did, but Dumbledore’s death… Niagara Falls running down my cheeks! Especially his last words (in a pleading tone) – Severus.. please. That is another thing that those words were actually a request to kill… The last book – as expected and waited, was a revelation. The frantic search for horcruxes,

The trio (deathly Hallows part 2) on Dragon while escaping from Gringotts

confrontation with Voldemort, adventure and the dragon ride ofcourse, Dobby’s death while saving Harry and the words written on his grave – The free elf, were a poignant reminder of his freedom, his sock gifts to Harry and the many other favours including the gillyweed in the fourth part for Harry’s second stage in the tournament; Snape’s death and the memory which divulged his deep love for Harry’s mother, and finally the death of Voldemort.

Dobby's Funeral in Part 1 and Snape's Death in Part 2 (deathly hallows)

I haven’t watched the Part 1 of Deathly hallows but I saw the part 2 yesterday at IMAX 3D. And by the way, it was my first ever 3D film. When I came back, I could feel myself still diaphanous after the magic that the screen created in me. More than that – the thought to make the very last of my Harry Potter series the most memorable one made me happy with tantamount sadness. But hey ‘It all Ends’ – Did you really like that? I guess, they could have thought of something stronger.

At the end, it is all about the strength of a character. Harry, Ron and Hermione – aided and abetted in every crime that lead to some good have made this novel and subsequently the movie to be known for a completely different era. There are people who criticise this piece of fiction really bad, and most of them because, they haven’t read it when they were younger and not smarter to decide between ‘stupid’ and ‘intelligent’. I don’t like when they say chiii! But then, that is because I have loved this piece of ‘shit’ for a really long time now and no matter how convincing they might be, my children are reading it when they are 10 or less. 😀

No matter how taller and sexier they become everyday, this picha from the Prisoner of Azkaban will always be favorite 🙂
